Current Rajasthan Government - 2008 to 2013

In this article, we are talking about the current Rajasthan Government and name of the Ministers with their departments. We will talk about the previous elections issues and stalwarts of both major party i.e Bhartiya Janta Party and Indian National Congress.

Current Chief Minister: Sh. Ashok Gehlot since 13 December 2008

Rajasthan Government reigned by two parties mainly Indian National Congress(INC) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Indian National Congress ruling the current governemnt of Rajasthan. Two biggest stalwarts from BJP and INC, namely Smt Vasundhra Raje Scindia and Sh Ashok Gehlot respectively dominating their parties from last 11-12 years. Late Mohan Lal Sukhadia, only the Chief Minister from INC who ruled maximum years i.e 17 years in Rajasthan Government and Late Bhairon Singh Shekhawat who nominated 3 times as Chief Minister of Rajsthan was the most popular leader from BJP as ever. Late Heera Lal Shastri was the first Chief Minister for Rajasthan Governemnt who took office in April 7, 1949 and left office in January, 1951.

Smt Vasundhra Raje Scindia, ruled Rajasthan government for 1831 days after winning elections in 2003 but due to despotic rule and Gurjar-Meena agitation, she lost her government in 2008 and Sh Ashok Gehlot from INC took over the Rajasthan Government as Chief Minister in 2008.

It seems that there is going to be a tough competition this time in between BJP and INC. Both parties have launched their manifesto with almost same points. BJP exhibits a point to give five percent reservation for Gujjars. Rajasthan's chief ministerial candidate Smt Vasundhara Raje also promised to give jobs for youth and development of educational infrastructure for minorities.

Main Points of BJP's manifesto:

  • Loans to farmers on 1 percent interest rate

  • 5 percent reservation to socially backward castes

  • Jobs for youth

After nominating Sh Narendra Modi as Prime ministerial candidate from BJP, here chances increase to get back of BJP in Rajasthan government too.

Previous Election statistics

Previous election was won by Indian National Congress with 102 seats and 79 seats were kept with BJP from total of 200 seats. There is a need of having 101 seats for a majority so, INC was supported by some external MLAs too, for dominating government.

List of Cabinet Ministers with their departments

Sh. Ashok Gehlot (Hon'ble Chief Minister) governing following departments, are:
Finance & Taxation, Planing, Personnel, Administration Reforms & Co-ordination, Home,Program Implementation, Ministrial Secretariat, Raj. State Investigation Bureau, General Administration, Khadi & Rural Industries, Social Justice & Empowerment, IT& Comm., Civil Aviation & Others

Sh. Aimadduddin Ahmad 'Duru Miyan' governing Medical & Health, Family Welfare Ayurveda, Health Education

Sh. Bharat Singh governing Public Works Department

Smt. Beena Kak governing Tourism, Art & Culture, Archelogy, Printing Stationery, Forest & Environment, Women & Child Development

Sh. Brijkishore Sharma governing Primary & Secondary Education,Sanskrit Education, Language & Linguistic, Minorities, Devsthan

Sh. Harji Ram Burdak governing Agriculture, Animal Husbandry, & Fisheries

Sh. Hema Ram Chaudhary governing Revneue, Colonisation & Water Resources

Dr. Jitendra Singh governing Energy, Non Coventional Energy Resouces, PHED, GWD, Information & Public Relations

Sh. Mahendrajeet Singh Malviya governing Tribal Aea Development, Rural Development & Panchayati Raj

Sh. Parsadi Lal Meena governing Co-Operative, Food & Civil Supply

Sh. Rajendra Pareek governing Industry, NRI's, Public Undertking, Economic & Statistics, Excise & Mines

Sh. Shanti Kumar Dhariwal governing Urban Development & Housing, Local Self Government, Law & Justice, Parliamentry Affairs, Election

List of State Ministers

Sh. Ameen Khan
Sh. Bijendra Singh Ola
Sh. Dayaram Parmar
Sh. Gurmeet Singh Kunnar
Sh. Mangi Lal Garasia
Smt. Manju Devi
Sh. Murari Lal Meena
Smt. Naseem Akhtar Insaf
Dr. Rajkumar Shrama
Sh. Rajendra Singh Gudha
Sh. Ram Kishore Saini
Sh. Vinod Kumar Lilawali
Sh. Virendra Beniwal

Additional Information:
Smt. Margaret Alva, is the present Governor of Rajasthan and Sh. C.K. Mathew, is the present Chief Secretary of Rajasthan.

Related Articles

Biography of Former Chief Minister of Rajasthan: Vasundhara Raje

In this article, we are talking about the Former Chief Minister and current Chief Ministerial Candidate of Rajasthan for Election 2013. We will talk about her political career with her personal life too. Apart from that, we will also talk about her achievements throughout political career.

More articles: Rajasthan Government


  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: